Cold Oven Cream Cheese Pound Cake

Yes, this cake is baked in a cold oven.  I’ve never done this before.  Does this method work well?  The result is amazing,  the cake rose high and the aroma of the cheese permeated the house when the cake was only 15 minutes into baking.

image

Source : Kitchen Flavours, I Love. I Cook. I Bake.  Recipe from Cake Keeper Cakes by Lauren Chattman.  Recipe below has been modified to my preference.

Makes one 12 cup bundt pan

Cold Oven Cream Cheese Pound Cake

Ingredients

3 cups cake flour, sifted ( minus 3 tbsp )

3 tbsp cocoa powder, sifted

1-1/2 teaspoons baking powder

226g salted butter, softened

250g cream cheese, softened

160g caster sugar ( I will increase to 200g next time )

6 eggs, room temperature

1 tbsp vanilla extract

Method

1.  Place the oven rack to the lower-middle position.  Do not preheat oven.

2. Grease a 12-cup bundt pan and dust with flour.

3. Combine flour, baking powder in a medium mixing bowl.

4. Cream butter, cream cheese and sugar in an electric mixer on medium-high speed until fluffy, beat for about 3 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl if necessary.

5.  Turn the mixer on medium speed, add in the eggs, one at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl after each addition.  Beat in the vanilla.

6. Turn the mixer to low speed and add in the flour mixture from (3), 1/2 cup at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl after each addition.  After the last addition, mix for 30 seconds on medium speed.

7. Take 1/3 of the batter and mix with cocoa powder.   Pour half of the remaining plain batter into the bundt pan, pour the chocolate batter and then top with the remaining plain batter.

8. Place the cake in a cold oven ( non preheated oven ).  Turn the oven to 165 degrees C and bake, without opening the oven door, until the cake is golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean,  about 55-60 mins.

9. Cool the cake in pan for 15 minutes, then invert it onto rack.  Cool completely before slicing and serving.

8 thoughts on “Cold Oven Cream Cheese Pound Cake

  1. Beautiful cake Eileen! I hope to try out the recipe soon.
    What size eggs do you usually use in your recipes? I tried the cooked dough pandan chiffon recently, and it deflated when I took it out of the oven, even though I used an ungreased tube pan and inverted it straight away =( . I’m wondering whether my eggs could have been too large- I used jumbo, which in Australian sizing means 67-72 grams per egg.

    • Hi, thanks for the compliment. I do not use jumbo size eggs, mine weigh abt 60g. I’d encountered the same problem before but I managed to find the root cause. My case was I’ve filled too much batter in the tube pan. The batter should only be 3/4 filled, and if you do have some remaining batter, fill them up in cup liners to make into cupcakes. Other problems that might have caused a deflated chiffon can be your meringue, egg whites should be beaten to stiff peak stage. Mixing the meringue into the yolk mixture is as important too. Do not overmix. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

