Super Melty Pineapple Tart

This is one of my must bake CNYcookies.  Having tried various recipes,  I have yet to find one that is highly satisfied until I baked this today.  DH likes these pineapple tarts texture and he even asked me to use this recipe for future baking.  I agree with him as this is one that melts-in-the-mouth which I am very satisfied.

This recipe is adapted from j3sskitch3n.  Slight modification is made for my own experiment.                                             

Preparation time : 1 hr 45 mins

Baking time : 15 mins

Total time : 2 hours

 Yield : 72 pcs of size 1-1/4” dia round pineapple tarts

Ingredients

Bake King ready made pineapple paste, rolled in balls ( mix 2tsp of rum into pineapple paste and roll into balls)

250g QBB

50 icing sugar ( I use 40g )

2 egg yolks

½ tsp vanilla essence ( I use pure vanilla extract )

¼ tsp salt

350g top flour ( I use cake flour )

50g corn flour

1 egg yolk – for glazing

¼ tsp salt – for glazing

1 tsp water – for glazing

Method

1. Using a hand whisk, cream QBB and sugar until light.  Whisk in egg yolks 1 at a time until well combined.  Add essence and salt and whisk until fluffy.

2.  Sift top flour and corn flour together and fold into the QBB mixture to form a soft dough.

3. Divide dough using a tsp and roll into balls.

4. Flatten a piece of dough and place a piece of the roll pineapple paste in the middle.  Bring the edges of the dough together and press lightly to seal.  Roll it in between your palms to shape it into roll.

5. Place rolls on baking tray lined with parchment paper or paper casing.

6. In a small bowl, mix the egg yolk, salt and water together for the glaze.

7. Brush the glaze on the pineapple rolls with a brush.

8. Bake in preheated oven of 180C and bake for 20-25 mins or until the rolls are pale golden brown. 

( I set my oven to multi cooking mode and bake 2 trays at one go for 15 mins )

9. Cool on wired rack before storing in airtight container.

2 thoughts on “Super Melty Pineapple Tart

  1. Hi, I don’t want to use ghee so is there any substitute? Do I need to weigh the pastry and the amount of pineapple paste of each ball? I have yet to find 1 recipe that is melt in the mouth and buttery so i am very interested to try this recipe but husband is not in favour of ghee at all. Thanks for your help!

    • Hi,I have another recipe which does not use ghee. Try to search CNY 2012 – Pineapple Tart with Milk Powder under cookie category. I think that will be more suitable for your hubby. You can weigh the dough and paste if you want to be accurate, otherwise you can use a spoon to estimate. Enjoy baking!

Leave a Reply

