Almost Famous Amos Chocolate Cookie

I baked this for my family gathering last weekend.  Besides cookies, there are Milk Tea Chiffon, Almond Chiffon, Pandan Hoon Kwee Kueh & Vanilla Mousse Jelly for our 2 nights stay at Aloha Yatch Club Bungalow.  Stay tune for these recipes in my upcoming posts.  These cookies were baked one week ahead while the others were made the day before.  It was a challenge for me to get ready with the cakes and desserts when I reached home from work as I had only 3 hours to get ready with the 4 items.

Coming back to this Almost Famous Amos Chocolate Cookie.  They are crunchy and yummy!  Sweetness is just-right.  I feel that the chocolate flavour has been overwhelmed by the ½ tsp coffee oil used in the recipe.  The cookie tasted more of coffee than chocolate.  Should I call this Coffee Cookie instead?  So if you are a non-coffee drinker or sensitive to coffee, you may consider to omit coffee oil and increase vanilla extract with the same amount of coffee oil.  I am glad that I’ve found and tried this famous amos alike recipe.  Thumbs up! I am sure to bake this again, most likely to omit the coffee oil to suit everyone.

This recipe is adapted and modified from bisousatoi ‘Almost Famous Amos Chocolate Chunk Cookies’.

Ingredients

250g salted butter,softened ( I used unsalted butter )

200g light brown sugar

1/4 tsp salt ( to omit if using salted butter )

1/2 tsp coffee oil ( from Sun-Lik )

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup oats, processed to bits in a chopper ( I used rolled oat and grind into bits )

1/4 cup ground almonds

1/2 cup of your favourite nuts, chopped finely (optional) ( I used walnut – toasted )

1 pack of Nestle Tollhouse semi-sweet chocolate chips OR chocolate chunks ( I used 1 cup chocolate chips but I will increase to 1-1/2 cups next time )

300g self-raising flour (I used plain flour with 1/2tsp of baking powder – sift together)

Method

1. Beat egg with vanilla extract and coffe oil and let it infuse for at least 2 hours or the night before.  Refrigerate it then bring to room temperature before baking.

(According to bisousatoi, this is the most important step)

2. Preheat oven to 160C.

3. Beat butter, sugar and salt to combine.  Beat in the egg and stir in the processed oats, ground almond, chopped nuts and the chocolate chips.  Fold in the sifted flour.

(This dough is neither stiff nor wet)

4. Line the baking tray with baking sheet.

5. Use teaspoon to scoop dough and space apart on the baking tray and bake for 15-20  minutes or until done.

6. Cool completely and store in the airtight container.

10 thoughts on “Almost Famous Amos Chocolate Cookie

  1. hi

    is the cookies crispy?

    As i had baked my cookies the previous time with other recipe, it is crunchy but not crispy,
    So i am trying to find crispy cookies recipe

    jas

  2. Thanks so much for posting this recipe! Just made these today and I didn’t use the coffee oil, replacing it with vanilla instead. The delicious crunchy bite-sized goodness tasted very much like those from Famous Amos ;D

  3. I would like to enquire for details, if I was to order wholesale quantity for export purposes, who should I contact. Please provide me a detail contact address and telephone number.

  4. I love the humour in your post title. I think my friends will like this cookie a lot, since everyone raves about famous amos cookies! i will try it without the coffee oil, i dont have any in my pantry. haha !

Leave a Reply

