Sugee Butter Cake

A friend asked if I can bake him a indian cake, he didn’t know the exact name but all he could describe is a butter cake that is dry and crumbly. Some of my indian friends whom I spoke with said that they like to associate semolina flour in their baking.  I made a wild guess and decided to try out sugee cake.  If this is the cake my friend has been craving for, then I would have to correct him. Sugee cake is one of the Eurasians’ signature dish ( Eurasian is a minority of the four official races in Singapore ).

I will describe the cake as a rich butter cake with a grainy texture from the semolina flour, neither dense nor fluffy, neither dry nor moist, and most importantly it is buttery but not too greasy.  It’s hard for me to track down to a traditional eurasian sugee cake recipe as I ended up with quite a few different methods. This method I use requires advance planning as in to soak the semolina flour with milk for 6 hours. I’ve not tried other recipes which may be more straight forward but for me the extra effort is worth it.

Source : Suji Butter Cake from I Love Butter Cake by Kevin Chai

I halved the recipe to yield a 6″ round.  This recipe has been reduced by half from the original recipe.  A full recipe is for 9″ square. 

Sugee Butter Cake

Ingredients

150g unsalted butter

37.5g margarine ( I used unsalted butter )

95g caster sugar ( I used 80g – I will use 95g next time)

1/2 tsp salt

2-1/2 eggs ( I used 3 medium eggs )

95g plain flour

1/2 tbsp baking powder

150g semolina flour

150ml fresh milk

1/2 tsp vanilla essence ( I used vanilla extract )

Method

1. Soak semolina with milk for 6 hours.  ( I left the soaked mixture at room temperature )

2. Grease and line 6″ round baking tin.  Preheat oven to 180C.

3. Beat butter, margarine, sugar and salt until light and fluffy.  Add in eggs one at a time, beating thoroughly after each addition.

4. Stir in semolina mixture and vanilla essence.  Fold in sifted flour and baking powder, mix until well blended.

5. Spread batter into prepared tin.  Bake in oven for 40-45 minutes.

8 thoughts on “Sugee Butter Cake

  1. I also have not try a cake with Semolina flour, all ingredients look the same like butter cake except this flour. Hopefully one day I will try a cake using this flour.Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

