Gula Melaka Chiffon Cake

My chiffon cake is by no means perfect yet, but I’m very happy with the look, this should be one of my best lately.  This reminded me of a dishearten moment when my chiffon resembled the hour-glass after two consecutive baking attempts.  I was unable to pinpoint to the possible hidcups during then, everything seemed to be in the correct order and nothing was amiss.  I blamed it on stress.

Finally my chiffon is standing tall and proud….finally my baking ego for chiffon cake is restored…:)


Source : Passionate About Baking with slight modifications

Makes one 8″ chiffon and one mini chiffon

Gula Melaka Chiffon Cake

Ingredent A

150g gula melaka

100ml coconut milk

few pandan leaves ( not included in original recipe, shredded and tied a knot )

6 egg yolks

4 tbsp oil ( I used olive oil )

1/4 tsp salt

140g plain flour ( I used cake flour )

Method

1. Melt gula melaka, pandan leaves and coconut milk at low heat.  Remove and pour in a mixing bowl.  Leave aside to cool.

2. Use hand whisk, combine gula melaka mixture with egg yolks, oil and salt.

3. Add in flour and stir well to combine.

Ingredient B

6 egg whites

1/4 tsp cream of tartar

40g caster sugar

Method

1. Whisk egg whites at low speed until foamy, add in cream of tartar and whisk at medium speed.  Add in sugar in 3 additions and whisk at medium-high speed until stiff peak forms ( I took about 8 minutes using KA mixer ).

2.  Add 1/3 of egg white mixture into the yolk mixture and foll well.

3. Add the remaining egg white mixture and gently fold in until well combine.

4. Pour into a 9″ tube pan, bake at 170 deg C for 40-45 minutes or until cooked.

( I used 8″ and a mini tube pan.  The mini tube pan was baked for 20-25 minutes)

5. Invert the cake to cool, unmould when completely cooled.

9 thoughts on “Gula Melaka Chiffon Cake

  1. Pingback: gula melaka chiffon cake | eelmsthenovicebaker

  2. Hi Eileen, your chiffon cake looks soft and fluffy. I have yet to try gula melaka version, will definitely try out your recipe soon. Thanks for sharing, have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

