My 100th Post – Christmas Fruit Cake

I started blogging eight months ago, and I’m glad to reach my first 100th post before the year ends.  I wish everyone a Merry Christmas and a Happy Year 2012.

Unlike the traditional fruit cake which is dense, this is soft, moist and light just like Florence of Do What I Like described. This cake isn’t too sweet which I like. This recipe is equally good compared to the traditional fruit cake recipe from aunty Yochana, but still  I would like to try out Alton Brown’s recipe that received rave reviews.  I hope I can find time to bake one before Christmas.

Source : Do What I Like with slight modifications

Makes 3 small loaf pans or one 8″ round cake pan

Christmas Fruit Cake

Ingredients

225g butter (at room temperature)

130g light muscovado sugar ( I used brown sugar )

1tsp vanilla extract ( not included in original recipe )

4 egg yolks (at room temperature)

1/2 – 3/4 tsp salt

15g orange zest

15g lemon zest ( I omitted )

4 tbsp orange juice

300g plain flour

1.5 tsp baking powder

3/4 – 1 tsp all spice ( I replaced with ½ tsp cinnamon powder, ½ tsp nutmeg powder, and ¼ tsp ginger powder )

300g – 400g mixed dried fruits, soaked in 3 – 4 tbsp of your favorite liquer ( I used 300g raisins that had been soaked with rum for several months )

5 egg whites

1/4 tsp cream of tartar

50g caster sugar

Method

1. Soak dried fruits in liquer for at least 24 hours.

2. Preheat oven at 170C. Line the bottom of baking pan with 2 layers of baking paper. Either line the sides or grease the sides.

3. Sieve flour, baking powder and spice and leave aside for use later. Remove 50g of this flour mixture and mix it into the dried fruits.

( I replaced spice with cinnamon + nutmeg + ginger powder )

4. Cream butter till soft, add in the salt and muscovado sugar and beat till mixture is pale and fluffy.

( I added vanilla extract )

5. Beat in the yolk one at a time. Add in the orange and lemon zest.

6. Mix in the orange juice alternating with sieved flour mixture till well combined.

7. Beat egg whites till bubbly, add in the cream of tartar and beat till it is white in color. Add in sugar by thirds and beat till stiff peaks formed.

8. Fold whites into the butter mixture gently.

9. Add in dried fruits and mix gently.

10. Pour batter into cake pan and smooth out the surface with a wet spatula, at the same time make a very shallow hallow in the middle of the batter for even rising.

( Original recipe uses one 8” round cake pan, but I used 3 small loaf pans )

11. Reduce oven temperature to 160C and bake for 90 – 100 minutes or till cooked and golden brown.

( I used 3 mini loaf pans and I baked for about 45-50 mins or till cooked and golden brown )

10 thoughts on “My 100th Post – Christmas Fruit Cake

  1. Hi Eileen, Congratulation on your 100th post. Your fruit cake looks soft and moist. I like fruit cake but not too sweet type, I’ll like try out your recipe when I next bake fruit cake. Have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

