CNY 2012 – Pineapple Tart with Milk Powder

Bought 4 kilos pineapple paste but still have a substantial amount of it from the previous pineapple tart baking.  I should not expect much vistation as CNY celebration is coming to an end.  Having that in mind, I decided to try out a new recipe afterall it’s for own consumption, so it didn’t really matter if it didn’t turn out well.  However, they were surprisingly tasty.  A little crispy and completely melt-in-your mouth.  The amount of milk powder used is just nice to enhance the flavour.  I couldn’t resist baking anther batch even after cleaning up the kitchen.

Pineapple Tart with Milk Powder

Source : From My Sweet Hut with slight modifications

Makes 112 pcs bite-sized tarts

Ingredients

300g butter (cold and firm)

2 big egg yolks

½ tsp vanilla extract  ( original recipe ¼ tsp )

400g plain flour

12g milk powder

4 Tbsp icing sugar ( original recipe 1tbsp )

A packet of pineapple paste ( original recipe 945g, I used about 700-800g )

1 egg yolk + 2 drops of cooking oil and water for egg wash.

Method

1. Cream butter for 3 mins, add in egg yolks and beat for 3 more mins until light and creamy.  Add in vanilla extract and mix well to combine.

2. Sift flours, milk powder and icing sugar together, add into butter mixture.  Using spatula to mix by pressing them together.  Knead for a few mintues to form dough ( do not over-knead ).

3. Divide pineapple paste into 6g each, roll into round ( I do this in advance )

4. Divide dough into 8g each, flatten and place pineapple paste in the middle.  Bring the edges together and seal.  Roll in between palms to shape into round. Place on baking tray lined with baking sheet.

5. Glaze shaped dough with egg yolk mixture and bake at 175 degrees C for 18-20 minutes or till lightly golden

6. Allow tarts to cool completely before storing .

12 thoughts on “CNY 2012 – Pineapple Tart with Milk Powder

  1. So delicious! Great write up. I will give you a site where I got real fruit on powder form, I mix it with milk and ice cream to go healthy. they have pineapple, papaya, soursop, mango, apple. A lot of fruits and veggies. Enjoy guys! http://www.freshlydried.com

  2. After Pai Tin Kong, I actually use the prayer pineapple to make pineapple filling and pineapple open tart, I was so good. I am sure next CNY I going to make my own filling, hehehe.. Your also sound good.

  3. Cannot miss out this during CNY, love your new shape of the pineapple tarts 🙂 I have something for you, please feel free to collect it from my blog.

  4. Hi Eileen, your pineapple tarts looks cute. You sure hardwaorking, huh! After CNY I’m slow down in my baking as already overeat thru out the holiday. hahaha
    Have a nice day.

  5. sounds like you’ve been very hardworking trying out recipes for pastries..hehe..i just got few more pieces of pineapple tarts left..dont think i will bake them ..so gonna eat them again next year!

Leave a Reply

