THB : Apricot-Pistachio-Lemon coffee cake

The Home Bakers’ second bake from ‘Coffee Cakes’ by Lou Seibert Pappas.  I am glad to be part of this bakeforce organized by Joyce of Kitchen Flavours.  At The Home Bakers (THB), not only we will bake all the recipes of a selected cookbook together, we also learn from each other via the Q&T (Question & Tips) sharing session.  If you are interested to join THB,  please click here for more details.

The cake wasn’t that sweet after I have cut down on sugar. The rum infused apricots, lemon zest, lemon juice and pistachios were perfectly matched, not only the cake was flavorful, the color of apricots and pistachios were also aesthetically pleasing to the eyes.  The cake has a nice balance between dry and moist texture.

The cake emerged from my pan in perfect shape, but I couldn’t get a clean-cut  because of the nuts and apricots.

For a full recipe, please refer to Chris of Yummy Bakes.  I made half of the recipe with 90g of sugar and used macerated apricots.  I baked mine for 30-35 minutes.

Our next baking event is scheduled on 18 May and THB will be baking Blueberry Streusel Coffee Cake, pg 54.

I’m linking this to ‘The Home Bakers’, please click here to view members’ entries.   We look forward to seeing your participation.
 
Welcome to The Home Bakers
19 thoughts on “THB : Apricot-Pistachio-Lemon coffee cake

  1. hi eileen, very true that the q&a section is very helpful indeed, this must be really good with the rum infused apricots. Glad to know that you’re a member too!

  2. Everyone had problem slicing the cake. But I agree the cake definitely manages to balance the dry and moist texture with very robust lemon flavour.

  3. 你们这个活动真的好热闹,搞到我也心痒痒想参与了,哈哈哈!
    但我现在想吃一片蛋糕先,ok?

  4. Very nice cake – interesting to see different shapes from different bakers but using the same recipe. Yeah … very exciting to be a part of this event. 🙂

  5. Hi Eileen,
    Nice cake! A great idea to soak the apricots with rum, it must have added extra aroma and yumminess to the cake! Thank you for joining THB! I really need to get a pan like yours, always wanted to, I like the shape, makes slicing easier and constant size too! Looking forward to our next bake together!

    • This cake has a nice aroma, I think the added rum did increase the aromatic scent since the apricots had been soaked for months. Normally I will soak raisins and apricots in advance for fruit cakes. Thanks for extending this invitation to me. I will try my best to follow this event closely.

Leave a Reply

