Butter Cake

I’m glad to chance upon Fong’s Kitchen Journal for this recipe as she has shared useful information for baking butter cake, click here to get tips on  ‘when baking butter cakes’.   This recipe yields a buttery yet not oily, soft, light and moist texture.    I’m pleased with the outcome as I always prefer cakes which are less dry and dense.  Most of the cakes will have a huge humps in the middle, unlike this which is flat ( I’m sure this has added some aesthetic value to it, you think so? ).

Source : Adapted and modified from Fong’s Kitchen Journal – Marble Butter Cake

Makes one 8″ square

Butter Cake

Ingredients

(A)
227g unsalted butter, cold from the fridge and cut into smaller chunks ( I used salted )
100g fine sugar
1/4 tsp salt
5 egg yolks
50g evaporated milk
1 tsp rum extract
1 tsp vanilla extract

(B) Sift together
200g plain flour
1 tsp baking powder

(C) Whisk till stiff
5 egg whites
60g fine sugar
1/4 tsp cream of tartar

Method

1. Preheat oven at 160C.  Grease a 8″ square pan and line with parchment paper.

2. Cream butter, sugar and salt at medium speed till fluffy.  ( I mixed for 10 mins using KA mixer )

3. Add in egg yolks, one at a time.  Add in the evaporated milk, rum and vanilla extract.

4. Add in sifted flour and mix well to combine.

5. Whisk ingredients (C) till stiff and fold to combine with the cake batter.

6. Pour cake batter into baking pan.

7. Bake in preheated oven at 160C for about 45-50 minutes.

8 thoughts on “Butter Cake

  1. i always love butter cakes. Just wondering is this the same as the Mrs ng’s butter cake as i’ve seen in several blogs. I can see that the texture of your cake is wonderful. you asked about the semolina flour, i think it’s okay to substitute that , i’ve tried this flour together with normal cake flour for my butter cakes once and it was good. Otherwise you can use all cake flour. Happy baking!

    • Hi Lena, thanks to your reply regarding semolina flour. I’ve gone ahead to use yellow cornmeal as I managed to get it yesterday. I’ve baked apple upside down cake awhile ago, and it’s really good. Back to my butter cake, this recipe I used is different from Mrs SK Ng’s butter cake. I would think that Mrs Ng’s recipe is simpler as it does not require additional step in whisking egg white, but I must say that the extra effort is worth it 🙂 It’s good if you prefer less dry and dense butter cake.

Leave a Reply

